This much I know about…my ambivalent response to Gove’s re-takes don’t count in schools’ accountability measures policy change

This from the front line…

johntomsett

I have been a teacher for 25 years, a Headteacher for 10 years and, at the age of 49, this much I know about my ambivalent response to Gove’s re-takes don’t count in schools’ accountability measures policy change.

My strapline for this blog is taken from Hamlet – There is nothing either good or bad/ But thinking makes it so. It’s Shakespeare’s glass half full/half empty line for his Elizabethan audience. I have always been able to control my thinking and see my way through any challenge. But this week has been different. This week, with Gove’s announcement about re-takes and accountability measures, I have dithered over what to do in response to this policy change like never before. I even tweeted this, which ain’t like me at all…

tweet

The York Press has two photographs of me depending upon whether it is covering a positive story or a negative one. Well, this…

View original post 1,062 more words

Comment:

